Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Needed artifacts from the dev build are missing. Would you like to run a development

    You found a bug! We've classified it as ORION-718 . We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1

    Default Needed artifacts from the dev build are missing. Would you like to run a development

    Hi,

    I get this message after checking any of the browsers in the Local Browsers list. When I click Yes I get a dialog titled 'Building' and a message saying "Running development build..." which just goes on forever.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Sencha User vojtech.cerveny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Ostrava, Czech republic
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Hi gemmac,
    could you provide more information about your settings (OS, version of ExtJs and etc.)?

    And can you look at folder of your app if development build is there? /yourApp/build/development should be present.
    You can try delete it and folde .sencha/temp/yourApp (but create backup for both folders for sure ) and run your test again - maybe it is damaged and now you create new one.


    Tip: Development build is necessary to testing unit test. If you need test your app, you can avoid this and check in settings scenario (property Launch applications). This doesn't need development build.

    Feel free to contact me any time.
    Vojt?ch

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi,Thanks for your reply.

    I'm finding it extremely difficult to perform the most basic of tasks with Sencha Test. We have a support contract with Ext (Fixnetix) and are considering purchasing this test tool but so far, it seems very flaky.Our application uses ext 5.1.1.451 and built using cmd 6.0.2.14.I managed to finally get something working...

    Not entirely sure what i did, but some magic combination of builds, version downgrades, and just plain good luck. Now to try and write a simple test.... :-)

    RgdsGemma

  4. #4
    Sencha User dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,748

    Default

    Sorry to hear you are having issues using Sencha Test. I think I can shed some light on this case.


    To suppress application launch (unchecking "Launch application" in the scenario config) the normal application page and manifest cannot be used. This is because they will launch the app.

    To bypass app launch, Sencha Test performs a Development build that generates a separate HTML file and manifest json (sans app.js) and places them in .sencha/temp folder of the workspace. Normally app.js just launches the Application class by calling Ext.application() so removing it means that nothing happens other than loading the app code and test files.


    If this approach does not work out, I'd recommend adding a query parameter like "?nolaunch" (see gist) to the app.js code and then in the Location field of the scenario config. Also then leave the "Launch application" option checked to tell Sencha Test to launch in the normal way. In the gist I wrapped the nolaunch logic in //<debug> and //</debug> preprocessor tags so they get removed from a production build. That is up to you as maybe you would want to have the option even in production.


    While Sencha Test does not require Cmd, it only supports interop with Cmd 6+ (current release is 6.1.2) so that probably explains some of the failures you experienced. Since this option requires a special build, it sounds like there should be better messages in place when Cmd 6+ is not available. I'll create a ticket to get that case handled more cleanly.
    Don Griffin

    "Use the source, Luke!"

  5. #5
    Sencha User dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,748

    Default

    I should also mention that the extra steps of creating new HTML/json files for a development build are only performed by Sencha Test, not Sencha Cmd. This can be triggered automatically as you've seen or manually using the context menu of the application node.
    Don Griffin

    "Use the source, Luke!"

Similar Threads

  1. Different parameters for build and development environments
    By alejandromoran2 in forum Ext JS 6.x Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14 Oct 2016, 7:42 AM
  2. Adding your own development targets to build.xml
    By wpostma in forum Sencha Cmd
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28 Jan 2016, 2:33 PM
  3. [OPEN] Bug: native iOS build contains superfluous artifacts
    By fhisg in forum Sencha Cmd
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Oct 2013, 10:23 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11 Jan 2012, 3:28 PM
  5. layout-browser example tree missing on development site
    By piston in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10 May 2009, 1:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •