Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sencha Test 2.0.0.287: Browser not starting when runnning tests from Studio

  1. #1
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Sencha Test 2.0.0.287: Browser not starting when runnning tests from Studio

    Hi,


    I installed the EA build 2.0.0.287, created a new workspace (see my workspace.json) and added one simple test.

    workspace.json:
    Code:
    {
        "name": "sencha-test",
        "build": {
            "dir": "${workspace.dir}/build"
        },
        "packages": {
            "dir": "${workspace.dir}/packages/local,${workspace.dir}/packages",
            "extract": "${workspace.dir}/packages/remote"
        },
        "tests": {
            "path": "test\\project.json"
        }
    }
    project.json:
    Code:
    {
        "framework": "jasmine",
        "libs": [],
        "coverageFilters": [],
        "scenarios": [
            {
                "libs": [],
                "coverageFilters": [],
                "sandbox": true,
                "directory": "E2E",
                "name": "E2E"
            }
        ],
        "subjectUrl": "https://www.google.com/",
        "globals": "*"
    }
    When I select my scenario, I only see one embedded browser (Google Chrome 54), so I select that. In version 1 the browser was already started at that point, but that doesn' t happen here.
    So I press the Run button, in the upper right corner I'm seeing "Loading Tests", but nothing happens. It doesn' t even help to click "Start embedded".
    No error messages in the logs, just this:

    Code:
    1	0:00:00.238	[INF]	Version 2.0.0.287 (Build date 11/07/2016)
     2	0:00:00.423	[INF]	Parking Lot open on port 8800
     3	0:00:02.029	[DBG]	environment: orion (tern v{build})
     4	0:00:02.181	[DBG]	found config.json at C:\Users\whihn\workspace_svn19\sencha-test\.sencha\ide\config.json
     5	0:00:02.184	[DBG]	contents:
     6	0:00:02.184	[DBG]	{}
     7	0:00:02.186	[DBG]	include [ 'C:\\Users\\whihn\\workspace_svn19\\sencha-test',
     8	0:00:02.186	[DBG]	'C:\\tools\\sencha_test_2_0_0_287\\resources\\app.asar\\node_modules\\orion-core\\serve' ]
     9	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	contents after postprocessing:
    10	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	{
    11	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	"include": [
    12	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	"C:\\Users\\whihn\\workspace_svn19\\sencha-test",
    13	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	"C:\\tools\\sencha_test_2_0_0_287\\resources\\app.asar\\node_modules\\orion-core\\serve"
    14	0:00:02.187	[DBG]	],
    15	0:00:02.188	[DBG]	"apps": [],
    16	0:00:02.188	[DBG]	"exclude": []
    17	0:00:02.188	[DBG]	}
    18	0:00:02.189	[DBG]	Found apps: []
    19	0:00:02.231	[DBG]	loading 39 js files in project...
    20	0:00:03.347	[DBG]	project loaded in 1.132 seconds
    21	0:00:03.374	[DBG]	wrote indexes
    22	0:00:03.375	[DBG]	Listening on port 54496
    23	0:00:04.932	[INF]	Proxy Server open on port 8000

    I had Sencha Test 1 installed before, but I uninstalled that and removed old settings in <user_home>/.sencha.

    Any help would be highly appreciated.


    Regards,
    Werner Hihn

  2. #2
    Sencha User joel.watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,120
    Vote Rating
    187
      0  

    Default

    Hi--

    The first thing we need to verify is the the embedded selenium server instance is getting started correctly. Can you look in the Tasks tab within Studio and confirm that you have an entry like so:

    Selenium Server @4450

    When you run the tests, the embedded server *should* be started automatically, so there may be an issue getting that spun up, which is then preventing the rest of the process from completing successfully.

    Once you confirm that the task is running correctly, try navigating to this url in your browser:
    http://localhost:4450/wd/hub

    If the page resolves and you see a "WebDriver Hub" page, that will confirm that the selenium server instance is running correctly.

    If you are not able to see the task or access the WebDriver hub url, that would indicate that there is indeed an issue starting up the server. If so, let me know and we can further explore this issue.

    Thanks!
    Joel

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Hi Joel,

    thanks for looking into this. Selenium Server seems to start as expected, I see the entry in Tasks Tab and the WebDriver hub URL displays a page, where I can create & refresh sessions.

    Nevertheless, the Location-URL from my project settings is never loaded.

    Regards, Werner

  4. #4
    Sencha - Test Dev Team marcelofarias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Boca Raton, FL
    Posts
    75
    Vote Rating
    3
      0  

    Default

    Hi

    Please notice the double backslash in your workspace.json:

    Code:
        "tests": {
            "path": "test\\project.json"
        }
    Try replacing it with a single forward slash like this:
    Code:
        "tests": {
            "path": "test/project.json"
        }
    Let me know if that solves the problem. Also, was it generated by Sencha Test (in which case it would be a bug we have to fix) or it was edited manually?

    Regards
    Marcelo Bukowski de Farias

  5. #5
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Hi,

    yes, the double backslash was generated by Sencha Studio, I already mentioned that in a support ticket for version 1:
    #32659 "No test scenario found on when running via STC"

    Changing it to a single forward slash fixed the issue I had then, but it doesn' t fix the current problem

    Regards, Werner

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Works fine now with release version 2_0_0_359

  7. #7
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Hi Marcelo,

    I'm having similar issue with version 2.2.0.111:
    Selenium Server @ 4451 Running: No

    The Power switch icon next to Embedded in blinking green but Selenium does not start.

    Here is the error in the Log:
    [ERROR] [model/farm/Embedded] Error: Unable to connect to selenium at hasStarted (C:\Program Files\Sencha\Test\2_2_0_111\resources\app.asar\node_modules\orion-core\node_modules\selenium-standalone\lib\check-started.js:17:10)

    Unable to connect to selenium


    Tried editing the workspace.json as you suggested, no luck.

    Please advise.
    Last edited by [email protected]; 21 Feb 2018 at 5:09 AM. Reason: added error message

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17 Nov 2016, 5:29 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15 Nov 2016, 12:46 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26 Sep 2016, 11:17 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11 Aug 2016, 8:10 AM
  5. Creating tests without Test Studio
    By dmarcotte in forum Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31 Jan 2016, 1:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •