Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Failed to execute 'swapCache' on 'ApplicationCache': there is no newer application ca

  1. #1
    Sencha Premium User mankz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,153

    Default Failed to execute 'swapCache' on 'ApplicationCache': there is no newer application ca

    We get this exception every time after upgrading our Sencha web application (built with Cmd). Any clue as to what could cause it?

    Code:
    Failed to execute 'swapCache' on 'ApplicationCache': there is no newer application cache to swap to.
    No stack, just
    Code:
    ApplicationCache.onAppCacheReady

  2. #2
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    11,985

    Default

    Thanks for the report. I couldn't find any reports similar to this. You are upgrading Cmd to version 6.2.1? From which version?

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium User mankz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3,153

    Default

    Reworded original post, it's a normal Sencha app. We use Sencha Cmd v6.2.0.103

  4. #4
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,451

    Default

    What browser is this happening on? Does this happen only on a production build?

    The swapCache method call happens in the updateready event listener basically happens like this:

    Code:
    var _cache = window['applicationCache'];
    
    _cache.addEventListener('updateready', function() {
        _cache.swapCache();
    });
    It seems the browser is then complaining about that swapCache call within it. So if you break on exceptions and are in the onAppCacheReady method, then you could check the status of the cache:

    Code:
    _cache.status
    // or directly:
    window.applicationCache.status
    Also, is the .appcache file being cached itself maybe? In apache you could have this:

    Code:
    ExpiresByType text/cache-manifest "access plus 0 seconds"
    Just some ideas.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28 Aug 2016, 10:45 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7 Oct 2014, 5:36 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2014, 2:50 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Feb 2014, 6:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •