Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Error enabling Sencha Inspector

  1. #1
    Sencha Premium Member richardvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    145
    Answers
    13
    Vote Rating
    40
      0  

    Default Answered: Error enabling Sencha Inspector

    First time I enable the 'Sencha Inspector' checkbox in Fiddle, and the result is that the Fiddle won't run and this error is presented:

    Code:
    {
        "msg": "Cannot read property 'replace' of undefined",
        "stack": [
            "TypeError: Cannot read property 'replace' of undefined",
            "    at assets.forEach.asset (/usr/src/app/node_modules/sencha-fiddle/Fiddle.js:204:44)",
            "    at Array.forEach (native)",
            "    at Fiddle.parseAssets (/usr/src/app/node_modules/sencha-fiddle/Fiddle.js:202:20)",
            "    at Fiddle._run (/usr/src/app/node_modules/sencha-fiddle/Fiddle.js:156:12)",
            "    at process._tickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:103:7)"
        ],
        "success": false 
    }
    Any idea?

  2. This should be fixed now.

  3. #2
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,699
    Answers
    3945
    Vote Rating
    1279
      0  

    Default

    This should be fixed now.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  4. #3
    Sencha Premium Member richardvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    145
    Answers
    13
    Vote Rating
    40
      1  

    Default

    Yes it has been fixed, thanks!

    By the way, thanks for Fiddle and the recent upgrade. I like it very much!

  5. #4
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,699
    Answers
    3945
    Vote Rating
    1279
      0  

    Default

    Thanks Richard. If you have any ideas to make it better, I'm all ears! (course when I have time to implement )
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  6. #5
    Sencha Premium Member richardvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    145
    Answers
    13
    Vote Rating
    40
      0  

    Default

    Well, here are the first three things I can think of:

    1. I still miss the View My Fiddles shortcut in the top right dropdown. I know how to find them using the Search option, but that shortcut was just so convenient.

    2. Search is too slow, up to the point where it gives up and only a blank result is shown due to a timeout. Especially for common single word search terms like 'store'.

    3. When running a Fiddle in a new tab/window, I prefer to see a permanent URL like https://fiddle.sencha.com/fiddle/1nsu/preview instead of https://fiddle.sencha.com/run?_dc=1483997000492

  7. #6
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,699
    Answers
    3945
    Vote Rating
    1279
      0  

    Default

    2) currently (and the way Fiddle 1 was) we use db full text searching which is why it's slow. I search for my stuff all the time so searching for my username and something in the title is lightening fast because the username narrowed it down.

    We do have a search project in the pipelines but no ETA. There are a couple steps to this and am awaiting on IT to solve their bit first before I can add fiddle as a facet.

    3) the way Fiddle runs is it collects the code in the editor tabs and tree panel and then does a form submit into the iframe or new window. Since you can run code without saving it, using the /fiddle/abc/preview route then isn't usable for all cases so having a permanent URL isn't possible then. I also don't see the benefit of one URL vs the other when running code?
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  8. #7
    Sencha Premium Member richardvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    145
    Answers
    13
    Vote Rating
    40
      0  

    Default

    3) Again, convenience. For example, to preview a specific Fiddle on a phone or iPad. In Safari it takes just one gesture and a single tap to open on my iPad a URL that is already open on my iMac/MacBook. I prefer that to hand typing the URL, and having to remember the exact syntax of the preview URL.
    But I also understand the issue of unsaved changes. Maybe the saved preview link can be put somewhere inside Fiddle to get the same result.

    It's like you said in your Fiddle 2 presentation at SenchaCon: "a small change can make a world of a difference for a customer" (if I recall correctly). :-)

  9. #8
    Sencha - Sr Software Engineer mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    39,699
    Answers
    3945
    Vote Rating
    1279
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by richardvd View Post
    It's like you said in your Fiddle 2 presentation at SenchaCon: "a small change can make a world of a difference for a customer" (if I recall correctly). :-)
    Don't use my words against me! lol

    So here is something I was thinking. The /fiddle/abc/preview will send a GET request to load the saved fiddle source that will run (it simply returns HTML with some <script>/<link>/etc). So if in the Fiddle app you are playing around with code and running the code, if it's a saved fiddle then instead of POSTing to /run I could POST to /fiddle/abc/preview and handle it the same way I POST to /run . I wouldn't see any reason a POST to /fiddle/abc/preview would mean to run the saved fiddle.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Sencha Inc, Senior Software Engineer
    ________________
    Learn BBCode and use it! Checkout the CODE tag!

    Check out my GitHub, lots of nice things for Ext JS and Sencha Touch
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  10. #9
    Sencha Premium Member richardvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    145
    Answers
    13
    Vote Rating
    40
      0  

    Default

    Solid plan! That should do it and I can't think of any downsides there.

Similar Threads

  1. SA 4EA Project Inspector Error
    By info@ferraresegroup.com in forum Sencha Architect 4.x: Bugs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25 Aug 2016, 10:02 AM
  2. Sencha Inspector GA is now available!
    By arthurakay in forum Sencha Inspector
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22 Oct 2015, 4:10 PM
  3. Sencha Inspector 6.0.1 Now Available!
    By sandeep.adwankar in forum Sencha Inspector
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15 Oct 2015, 4:31 PM
  4. App Inspector for Sencha v2.0
    By arthurakay in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 27 Oct 2014, 5:23 AM
  5. Enabling Speech input output in sencha?
    By mrunal in forum io: Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16 Feb 2012, 7:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •