Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Debugging a new User Extension

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Debugging a new User Extension

    I need guidance on how to debug a user extension - if it's even possible.
    I can successfully load an extension but I see nothing in the toolbox.

    I am relatively new to Architect 4 and I am trying to create a user extension for the first time.
    I have followed all the details to set up my source, my package.json and architect/definition files.
    http://docs.sencha.com/architect/4/g...structure.html

    The documentation seems to imply that just by copying the files to:
    C:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Architect\Extensions\MyExtension\1.0\
    where
    C:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Architect\Extensions\
    is in the 'preferences' of Architect.
    you can then somehow magically:
    "Open an Architect project that uses a compatible framework and use your user extension"

    "Then you can simply right-click and Package Extension to create an AUX file."
    Well, if the extension is not magically showing up in the toolbox under user extensions, you can't
    save it.

    Ok, so instead I created a zip file manually, renamed it .AUX, cleared the MyExtension/1.0 folders
    and then from a new blank project opened the new .aux with 'install user extensions'.

    It briefly popped up a help bubble that said it was successful!
    tap-panel-extension-successful.png

    Indeed it unpacked it to C:\Users\YOURNAME\Documents\Architect\Extensions\extensionname\version
    and the version matched what I had in the package.json.

    But it is still not visible use user-extensions in the toolbox.
    tap-panel-extension-no-show.png
    Nothing in the Cmd log shows any details about parsing or loading or why this is not visible.


    Is there a logging or build facility of any kind where you can see what is wrong?
    Why can't I see anything in the Toolbox under User Extensions?
    It seems that perfection and magic is required.

    Since Sencha-Market appears dead for now, are there any pre-built AUX files out there that I can try?
    Ok, I found this one https://github.com/gportela85/DateTimeField
    and it installs ok but it not visible in the toolbox either!?


    It need it to load with Sencha Architect 4 and an ExtJS6.2.1 modern project?
    Is all this problem because I have a modern project? or is there a bug?


    Carl

  2. #2
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Ok, I have discovered what may be the issue.
    The extension for DateTimeField did NOT appear in the toolkit for a Modern project but it does appear under classic.
    If I attempt to install my own extension under a modern project it is silent but when I install in a classic project I am seeing
    the errors.

    Is there a bug or a missing feature regarding User Extensions? Can you have a user extension for a modern project?

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    It turns out I needed 'modern' in the compatible frameworks.

    "architect": {
    "defsonly": true,
    "compatFrameworks": [
    "ext62", "modern62"
    ],

Similar Threads

  1. Debugging extension
    By ragzovskii in forum Sencha Architect 3.x: Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9 Jul 2015, 8:56 PM
  2. No user extension subforum for 5.x ?
    By Scorpie in forum Ext 5: Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1 Apr 2015, 2:47 PM
  3. How to import user extension?
    By sergiomichels in forum Sencha Architect 3.x: Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19 Aug 2013, 8:39 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18 Jun 2012, 12:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •