Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Test with different resolution/emulated devices

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    9
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default Test with different resolution/emulated devices

    Hi all!

    I need to test an application that is usually run in touch-screen devices (portrait orientation). On my computer, using the URL of the application, the only way I could make it show ok was using the Developer Tools > Device Toolbar > selecting Nexus 10 > Fit to window (which changes the zoom to 65%).

    One thing that I tried was ST.defaultContext.driver.windowHandleSize({width: 700, height: 1000}); but that won't change the zoom/size of the elements inside it, so still not all buttons/screen is visible.

    Any ideas on this? I heard about Sencha being able to run tests on multiple types of devices by the way (tablet, mobile, etc), but couldn't find any docs/tutorials on this (would appreciate any resources on the subject), although I would rather find a way to test in which I wouldn't need to have the actual device - maybe if there's any way to use Sencha Test with emulators or something like that ?

    Thanks for the attention!

  2. #2
    Sencha - Support Team joel.watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,120
    Answers
    443
    Vote Rating
    184
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dayanef View Post
    Hi all!

    I need to test an application that is usually run in touch-screen devices (portrait orientation). On my computer, using the URL of the application, the only way I could make it show ok was using the Developer Tools > Device Toolbar > selecting Nexus 10 > Fit to window (which changes the zoom to 65%).

    One thing that I tried was ST.defaultContext.driver.windowHandleSize({width: 700, height: 1000}); but that won't change the zoom/size of the elements inside it, so still not all buttons/screen is visible.

    Any ideas on this? I heard about Sencha being able to run tests on multiple types of devices by the way (tablet, mobile, etc), but couldn't find any docs/tutorials on this (would appreciate any resources on the subject), although I would rather find a way to test in which I wouldn't need to have the actual device - maybe if there's any way to use Sencha Test with emulators or something like that ?

    Thanks for the attention!
    One approach you might consider is to use BrowserStack/SauceLabs. They offer the ability to test against a large number of browsers and devices, all without emulation (definitely more reliable than simulators/emulators).

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    9
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joel.watson View Post
    One approach you might consider is to use BrowserStack/SauceLabs. They offer the ability to test against a large number of browsers and devices, all without emulation (definitely more reliable than simulators/emulators).

    Hey Joel, thanks again for getting back to me. I created a trial account on Sauce Labs and when I select my tests to run against an Android device I could see on the real time video of the testing on Sauce Labs that it was actually running on an emulator (?) I could also not select the device model. Am I doing anything wrong/missing any configuration on my code/Sencha Test?

  4. #4
    Sencha - Support Team joel.watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,120
    Answers
    443
    Vote Rating
    184
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dayanef View Post
    Hey Joel, thanks again for getting back to me. I created a trial account on Sauce Labs and when I select my tests to run against an Android device I could see on the real time video of the testing on Sauce Labs that it was actually running on an emulator (?) I could also not select the device model. Am I doing anything wrong/missing any configuration on my code/Sencha Test?
    What does your farm/pool/browser configuration look like?

    Thanks
    Joel

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    9
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joel.watson View Post
    What does your farm/pool/browser configuration look like?

    Thanks
    Joel
    Sencha2.jpg

    Hey Joel, just attached the print with the config, Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. [CLOSED] ondemand loading doesn't work in emulated IE10 in 6.2.1
    By ragzovskii in forum Ext 6: Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 May 2017, 10:59 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26 Jan 2016, 3:13 AM
  3. Store URL setting to file:///storage/emulated/0/
    By stirucherai in forum Sencha Touch 2.x: Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22 Sep 2014, 7:30 PM
  4. I have some problem, when i test my app on android devices
    By cailhuiris in forum Sencha Touch 2.x: Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25 Sep 2012, 4:58 AM
  5. How to test sencha touch apps on mobile devices without production to app markets
    By Sunforever0220 in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27 Jul 2011, 1:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •