Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Forum link on support page is wrong

  1. #1
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    466

    Default Forum link on support page is wrong

    Look at the support page. https://www.sencha.com/support/#platinum-maintenance

    The forum link is just sencha.com/forum/. This yields a 404. It should be something like https://www.sencha.com/forum.

    This issue is more apparent now that you've removed the forum link from the top level navigation. I would respectfully ask you to bring it back. It's been an indispensable source of knowledge since the beginning of Ext.

    Please do at least fix the link so that new / prospective users aren't fooled into thinking it's gone completely.

  2. #2
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    913

    Default

    Why would they? They are not fixing bugs, don't care about user feedback and most importantly don't want people to see any negative comments. It's the best for them if users think the forum is dead.

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default Forum Link is functional on Chrome & Edge

    Good morning,
    {Edit: By logging in with support portal credentials in advance.}
    I was successful in accessing the forum from both links you listed. I checked this out on Chrome & Edge, as I do not run FireFox or Safari.
    I will have those looked into today.

    {Edit: Sencha will correct the "www" ommissions for forum access without support login credentials}

    I have placed a request to add a direct link to forums login from the Support page.
    Regards,
    Lee

  4. #4
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    looks like the link on the support page is http://sencha.com/forum/ but needs to be http://www.sencha.com/forum/

  5. #5
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,436

    Default

    Cannot believe they don't have a 404 page anymore and it leads to a normal, default Google 404 page... not very professional.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  6. #6
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    466

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mitchellsimoens View Post
    Cannot believe they don't have a 404 page anymore and it leads to a normal, default Google 404 page... not very professional.
    They do have a 404 page. If you try an invalid url path after www.sencha.com, you'll get it. The problem on the link is that it's just sencha.com without the www. Of course, it's not very professional either to have a broken link on your site either and not fix it immediately when informed of it...

  7. #7
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,436

    Default

    I was pointing out that they no longer have a Sencha generated 404 page to keep the look of the site the same. This is the 404 page I see which is the default google one:

    Attachment 58032
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  8. #8
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    466

    Default

    I think they do. For example, https://www.sencha.com/answers gives a styled page. It's just the sencha.com without the www doesn't even get to their servers so no custom error page.

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,436

    Default

    DNS is hard huh? Like it's not impossible to support www and no www... I mean even my simple static site blog supports it (I redirect www to no www but there are simple ways to keep www or no www).
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch
    Modus Create, Senior Fullstack Engineer
    ________________
    Modus Create is based on the model of an open source team. We’re a remote, global team of experts in our field. To find out more about the work we do, head over to our website.

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Good morning Community,
    The forum link is now functional from our support page without the requirement to login to the Sencha support portal. Please accept our apologies for the temporary inconvenience.
    Lee @ Sencha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •