Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Extjs website: page width

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bah
    Posts
    434
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default Extjs website: page width

    You may not believe it, but at home I'm still using my old 14 inch monitor, set to 800x600 if I want to keep my eyes more or less working.

    At that resolution, the extjs website has a horizontal scrollbar.

    The relevant CSS rules in http://extjs.com/themes/ext/resources/css/extjs.css are:

    #extdoc {width: 960px;}
    #extforum {width:960px;}

    I suggest removing these restrictions, although I'm aware that it' not as simple as deleting those rules, since the background image hd-shots.jpg (in Home) would display incorrectly, at least in 800x600...

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bah
    Posts
    434
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Well, I fixed it myself (at least for me), using Greasemonkey for the first time! What a great tool.

    BTW, I also set trebuchet ms instead of tahoma as the font family, since I find the latter much less readable.

    Anyway, I keep my above suggestion of avoiding horizontal scroll for 800px-wide screens, if possible.

    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Ext JS Premium Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    220
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by efege View Post
    You may not believe it, but at home I'm still using my old 14 inch monitor, set to 800x600 if I want to keep my eyes more or less working.

    At that resolution, the extjs website has a horizontal scrollbar.

    The relevant CSS rules in http://extjs.com/themes/ext/resources/css/extjs.css are:

    #extdoc {width: 960px;}
    #extforum {width:960px;}

    I suggest removing these restrictions, although I'm aware that it' not as simple as deleting those rules, since the background image hd-shots.jpg (in Home) would display incorrectly, at least in 800x600...

    Thanks in advance!
    Can I invoke premium user veto powers?

    Efege: Buy a new monitor. Those cathode rays are frying your brain!

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bah
    Posts
    434
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dfenwick View Post
    Efege: Buy a new monitor. Those cathode rays are frying your brain!
    Well, since last year I've been waiting for a good reason to replace it... and also waiting prices to go further down. Maybe finally the time has come. Thanks for the push.

    But... that doesn't imply I'll give up promoting fluid (or elastic) instead of fixed layouts!

  5. #5
    Developer... jon.whitcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    391
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I agree. Buy a nice LCD and your eyes will love you for it. I can't do much on a computer if there is a CRT involved as my eyes just hurt looking at it.
    Jon
    Lead Internal Application Engineer - SugarCRM
    h2ik.co

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bah
    Posts
    434
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    I know, I know... Two and a half years using a nice 17'' LCD at work. It's my home monitor that has survived from the past century.

  7. #7
    Developer... jon.whitcraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    391
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Nice. I've burned threw more crts than should be allowed. i've use the same 2 lcd's at home for almost a good 2 years now. i like them very much in all their 20inch glory.
    Jon
    Lead Internal Application Engineer - SugarCRM
    h2ik.co

  8. #8
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    4
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    I use a 30" Cinema Display running at 2560x1600, so the site as it is seems extremely narrow to me Of course I can have 3 or 4 browser instances running side-by-side, so I guess it's not that bad

  9. #9
    Ext User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    9
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I've had my 19" ViewSonic CRT for the past 5 years. Works quite well, although it is quite large and heavy unfortunately. I have dual 19" LCDs at work, and they actually hurt my eyes more than my CRT does. Could be that my CRT is ViewSonic while the LCDs are some generic brand that came with Dell computers.

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bah
    Posts
    434
    Vote Rating
    1
      0  

    Default

    Hey, you helped me decide to say goodbye to that old 14 inch CRT, and I forgot to tell you!

    My eyes are in front of a new 19 inch widescreen Samsung since mid May.

    Thank you!
    Fernando G

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •