Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: [FIXED-87] [3.0RC3] HTMLEditor prepends ? to message

    You found a bug! We've classified it as a bug in our system. We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #21
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agfk View Post
    My patch doesn't change the logic for IE6/Opera.
    err... i'm saying there must be a reason why that check for IE6 / Opera was there in the first place (before you patched it).

    did you try your patch in IE6 and Opera without any side-effects?

  2. #22
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mystix View Post
    err... i'm saying there must be a reason why that check for IE6 / Opera was there in the first place (before you patched it).

    did you try your patch in IE6 and Opera without any side-effects?
    The default value for IE6 and Opera was ' ' before I patched it, and it's still ' ' after I patched it. Why would there be any side-effects?

    Anyway, forgot to fix the comment:

    Code:
    *** ext-all-debug.js    Wed Jul 01 19:00:09 2009
    --- ext-all-debug_patched.js    Mon Jul 13 13:45:34 2009
    ***************
    *** 57365,57373 ****
          ],
          defaultFont: 'tahoma',
          /**
    !      * @cfg {String} defaultValue A default value to be put into the editor to resolve focus issues (defaults to &?#8203; (Zero-width space),   (Non-breaking space) in Opera and IE6).
           */
    !     defaultValue: (Ext.isOpera || Ext.isIE6) ? ' ' : '&?#8203;',
    
          // private properties
          actionMode: 'wrap',
    --- 57365,57373 ----
          ],
          defaultFont: 'tahoma',
          /**
    !      * @cfg {String} defaultValue A default value to be put into the editor to resolve focus issues (defaults to   (Non-breaking space)).
           */
    !     defaultValue: ' ',
    
          // private properties
          actionMode: 'wrap',

  3. #23
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236

    Default

    ah i see. my mistake. i read the back portion first.

    what i wanted to say was:
    "did you try your suggestion in browsers other than IE6 / Opera?
    there's a reason why there's an explicit check in there for these 2 browsers to use  ."

    does your suggested patch work in FF / Chrome / Safari?

    what happens if the user intentionally intends to type a single space into the HTMLEditor?
    won't that be replaced as well? (that's why a zero-width space is used where possible -- IE6 and Opera apparently don't like that very much, which explains the special handling)

  4. #24
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mystix View Post
    ah i see. my mistake. i read the back portion first.

    what i wanted to say was:
    "did you try your suggestion in browsers other than IE6 / Opera?
    there's a reason why there's an explicit check in there for these 2 browsers to use  ."

    does your suggested patch work in FF / Chrome / Safari?

    what happens if the user intentionally intends to type a single space into the HTMLEditor?
    won't that be replaced as well? (that's why a zero-width space is used where possible -- IE6 and Opera apparently don't like that very much, which explains the special handling)
    Yes, FF, Chrome and Safari all seem to work fine with the patch.

    Before the form is submitted (and in fact, every time you type something), the editor contents will be compared to the default value and reset to an empty string if the comparison is true. It shouldn't really matter what characters are being used for this as long as they are invisible.

  5. #25
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236

    Default

    might want to test your fix against these findings:
    http://techtrouts.com/webkit-entity-...tities-to-xml/

  6. #26
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236

    Default

    [ friendly bump ]

  7. #27
    Sencha Premium User evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    19,253

    Default

    Marc's fix has been added to SVN.
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Former Sencha framework engineer, available for consulting.
    As of 2017-09-22 I am not employed by Sencha, all subsequent posts are my own and do not represent Sencha in any way.

  8. #28
    Ext User krzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    62

    Default

    I think i'ts still in 3.0 final. I have it (zero width character ?)

  9. #29
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236

    Default

    the fix went into SVN after 3.0.0 final was released, so yes, it's still in there.

  10. #30
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evant View Post
    Marc's fix has been added to SVN.
    For those wondering which of the above patches / suggestions were added to SVN, it was the reply by Mystix, #16 on the thread.

    Thanks for the fix, this was really confusing me for a while as to why an empty htmlEditor control was passing my server validation that required the field to be non-empty.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •