Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [INFOREQ][3.0.1] Font rendering in FF3.5 on Ubuntu

    You found a bug! We've classified it as a bug in our system. We encourage you to continue the discussion and to find an acceptable workaround while we work on a permanent fix.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default [INFOREQ][3.0.1] Font rendering in FF3.5 on Ubuntu

    Ext version tested:

    • Ext 3.0.1
    • SVN5338


    Adapter used:


    • ext


    css used:


    • default ext-all.css
    • default xtheme-blue.css


    Browser versions tested against:


    • FF3.5


    Operating System:


    • Ubuntu Karmic (v10) Alpha 5 & 6


    Description:


    • Can I be lazy, use the hyper-linked www to its fullest and just refer to this thing?


    Test Case:




    Steps to reproduce the problem:

    • build and render this thing, then take a look at it in FF3.5 on Ubuntu Karmic Alpha 5 or 6.


    The result that was expected:



    The result that occurs instead:


    Screenshot or Video:



    Debugging already done:


    • notice how the fonts are larger, even with the msttcorefonts installed
    • it doesn't happen with Opera on the same machine, with or without msttcorefonts
    • it didn't happen with FF3.0
    • it does NOT happen on Mandriva Linux One 2009
    • it does NOT happen on openSUSE 11.2-Milestone7
    • it does NOT happen on Ubuntu 9


    Possible fix:
    Some stuff is cleaned up...
    I generally set the line-height to font-size+2px for nice results (instead of a "normal" line-height).

  2. #2
    Sencha User mystix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,236
    Vote Rating
    5
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hanne View Post
    Can I be lazy, use the hyper-linked www to its fullest and just refer to this thing?
    yes you may, but please refrain from tagging your own posts [OPEN].

  3. #3
    Sencha - Community Support Team Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,246
    Vote Rating
    118
      0  

    Default

    Could you try if this patch fixes the problems?

  4. #4
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I haven't tried the numerous lines of code in this patch, since it can be fixed with just a few lines of CSS.

    Thanks anyway, because I've been wondering about the button alignment too -- then again, the left aligned buttons still look OK-enough to me -for an outdated IE- as long as they're usable and not clipped.

  5. #5
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team mschwartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Peoples' Republic of California
    Posts
    2,056
    Vote Rating
    19
      0  

    Default

    For anyone who cares to test this...

    You can install ubuntu or other linux in a virtual machine under windows using this:
    http://www.virtualbox.org/

    If you do test, I recommend messing with the QT4 preferences and see if any of those settings break things after your patch.

  6. #6
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mschwartz View Post
    For anyone who cares to test this...
    Could anyone care to even just confirm this? Also, what OSes are you even on? I thought Ext was an open source company?

  7. #7
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    I've debugged it myself. It's only with FF3.5 on the Ubuntu Karmic alphas...

  8. #8
    Sencha - Ext JS Dev Team evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    18,427
    Vote Rating
    858
      0  

    Default

    Does this behaviour still occur?
    Evan Trimboli
    Sencha Developer
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Don't be afraid of the source code!

  9. #9
    Ext JS Premium Member hanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Don't know... I'm running Mandriva now.

  10. #10
    Sencha User ThorstenSuckow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Aachen, Germany
    Posts
    604
    Vote Rating
    3
      0  

    Default

    I can confirm that there are problems rendering FormPanels on *nix machines using FF - the font metrics seem to break the layout.

    Unfortunately, I cannot add any screenshots, since I categorized this problem to this time as "trivial"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •