Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: IE beats firefox in resize speed?

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    226
    Vote Rating
    2
      0  

    Default IE beats firefox in resize speed?

    I just realized in the showcase. if you resize your main browser window. It takes a little while for firefox to change while in ie it changes almost instant.

    Isn't firefox suppose to have faster javascript so whats up with the resizing of the window ?

  2. #2
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    13,976
    Vote Rating
    132
      0  

    Default

    Isn't firefox suppose to have faster javascript so whats up with the resizing of the window ?
    Thats exactly the problem. Everybody talks about javascript speed. The thing that takes most of the time is dom manipulation, and here IE is faster

  3. #3
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    226
    Vote Rating
    2
      0  

    Default

    Does this apply to gwt?
    http://www.peachpit.com/articles/art...31567&seqNum=5

    this says some dom optimizing techniques. However gwt is a java to javascript compiler.

    So maybe the code will auto apply tech like instend of

    get(i).get(j).setLogo("A LOGO");
    get(i).get(j).setName("A NAME");

    it might be faster doing

    MyWidget thewidget = get(i).get(j);
    thewidget.setLogo("A LOGO");
    thewidget.setName("A NAME");

    will there be a different in speeds ?

  4. #4
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,737
    Vote Rating
    93
      0  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBuzzer View Post
    Does this apply to gwt?
    http://www.peachpit.com/articles/art...31567&seqNum=5

    this says some dom optimizing techniques. However gwt is a java to javascript compiler.

    So maybe the code will auto apply tech like instend of

    get(i).get(j).setLogo("A LOGO");
    get(i).get(j).setName("A NAME");

    it might be faster doing

    MyWidget thewidget = get(i).get(j);
    thewidget.setLogo("A LOGO");
    thewidget.setName("A NAME");

    will there be a different in speeds ?
    It will definitely be faster to only call .get(int) twice instead of four times, especially if you dont turn on disableCastChecking in GWT 2.0. The compiler probably isn't smart enough to figure out that no other code can possibly change those arrays, but this would be worth trying out to test it.

  5. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    751
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Adding a DOCTYPE will increase performance for Firefox. We are seeing this with FF 3.6. The increase is up to 40%. It's noticeable. This includes resizing.

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

  6. #6
    Sencha - GXT Dev Team
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,737
    Vote Rating
    93
      0  

    Default

    Keep in mind that adding strict doctype can have some pretty drastic performance issues in IE though, especially if you have much in the way of tables. I don't have hard numbers, but our main concern appeared to stem from trying to get the offsetHeight of lots of dom elts in IE.

  7. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    751
    Vote Rating
    0
      0  

    Default

    Yes, you are correct. It's not always easy to come up with the HTML DOCTYPE/header so that all browsers perform at their best.

  8. #8
    Sencha Premium Member steffenk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Haan, Germany
    Posts
    2,676
    Vote Rating
    9
      0  

    Default

    So i guess the browsers are not aware of HTML5?
    vg Steffen
    --------------------------------------
    Release Manager of TYPO3 4.5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •